CLASSIFIED. Just Kidding, Please Read – Not Your Average Hipster

Image

Artist – Classified

Album – Classified

Year – 2013

Genre – Hip-Hop/Rap

For those of you who don’t live in Canada, this man might be relatively unknown to you.

But for those who do live in Canada, Classified is a household name, as he is the artist that did Oh Canada (a spin-off of our national anthem, that in many ways became an unofficial national anthem.)

His new album came out a few days ago, and it has been on repeat for me ever since. Each and every frickin’ song is good, which makes this review so hard, because I can’t really find a strong, weak or hidden gem of a track. But, I’ll try my best. The album is too new to have very many reviews, but from what I’ve heard of the album, it would be hard to find anything worth negatively critiquing.

Strongest Track – Inner Ninja

Though I probably would have picked a different song just because it was the single, it was the song that made me want to check out the album. It is a very good song, and starts with an interesting line from Beverly Hills Ninja. It really sets the track up with Chris Rock saying “Ninja?! You a ninja?! Get outta here! You’re a ninja?!” I believe the song is meant to be light hearted. It is also so catchy. I first heard the song in a store, and I Shazamed it, and I never Shazam anything! Classified picked a great song to be the single off of the album, as me, along with a couple of my few friends were really excited for the album. However, after hearing that song, no one was as surprised as yours truly when I discovered just how well-done the rest of the album was.

Weakest Track – Growing Pains

Still a good song. I must remind everyone that each and every track is good, but I like to bump this album when I go to the gym, and it is the slowest. I also find that the vocal lead-in is a little hard to get into. Don’t get me wrong, I can still listen to the song, but I’ll never be in the mood for it. The track is too slow of me, in my opinion, to be in the middle of the album. Most of the album is upbeat, except for Hi-deas, but I can still put that song on and thoroughly enjoy it. The fact that it is a little slow and not as catchy makes it the weakest track, though it is still a good song.

Hidden Gem – Look Up (Signs)

Anyone who has read this knows I am a sucker for surprise songs that are unreal at the end of the album. This song is no different. Madchild features in this song, and his, dare I say it, Cypress Hill-esque sound that he has really adds to it. The track is sick as well. I have always found that when Kardinal Offishall features in a song, it’s usually Canadian. Sure enough, it is. Big ups to Offishall though, he has a sick piece. Just an all around sick song.

This album is great. I would highly suggest hip-hop fans check this out. Classified really brings it, with his great background tracks, Public Enemy samples and the fact that he doesn’t always talk about money, cars, or women in all of his tracks. The album is a great pick-up, and is, in my opinion the best album of the year so far. But, that’s so far. I guess we will see what else is in store for us.

Cheers!

N.Y.A.H.

Kyle M

One thought on “CLASSIFIED. Just Kidding, Please Read – Not Your Average Hipster

  1. Pingback: MLM: Six artists to watch out for | The Maple

Leave a comment